Making a bowl, start to finish

The trees infront of my church were being cut down so the street could be widened and I noticed a large slice of the tree had been left behind.  Not the most common shape to start with but I figured I could make something out of it.  In the picture below I had already cut off the tips and marked out the size of the bowl that I thought I could make.

Image

I used my new electric chainsaw to cut the chunk down to size and hopefully make it easier to get on the lathe.

Image

I had to start out as slow as my lathe could go due to the uneven weight of the wood.  I generated a pretty good sized pile of shavings working it down to size.

Image

By this point I was able to speec up the lathe and focus on the getting the final shape.  My goal was to reduce the size of the wood blank to the point where the bark was no longer present.

Image

Skip forward a few steps and this is what the final shape of the bowl ended up looling like.  I had just taken it off the lathe so it still has the nub where it was supported by the dead center.

ImageImage

Using the little foot on the small end of the bowl I hollowed out the bowl then switched over to my soft jaw chuck to remove the foot.  Below is the finished product.  Its hard to believe that it came from a giant slice of tree but I think being able to envision how to use a random piece of wood and then make it happen is a bunch of fun!

ImageImage

