Review of wood sealer

At first when I started turning wood I would just let the freshly cut wood sit outside and until I was ready to use it. It rarely turned out well due to tons of cracking. I tried to treat the cut surfaces with some old house paint which worked a little bit. The paint wasn’t able to flex as the dried so the wood still developed small cracks. I had read about a better wood sealer so I decided to give it a try.
DSCN3881
Two halves copy
One half of this log was coated with the wood sealer while the other was left untreated and cracked nicely. Judge for yourself how well the sealer works! Now everything I cut is coated with sealant. The nice thing is that once it is coated you can still see the grain pattern long after it would normally have dulled and grayed.

