What’s underneath that worn exterior

In previous posts I have had similar pictures. I always love taking a found piece of wood and finding out what it looks like after it has been turned and polished. Well, last summer I found an old Osage Orange tree that had been knocked down by a very large oak tree when it fell down. I had been trying to find just the right project to use it for because it isn’t very large. The pictures below show what the potential of the wood is with a little effort put into it. A few of the cracks where a little too large for my liking so I used CA glue to pack shavings in and then give it a final sanding. A more exotic filler might have had a more wild look but I’m happy with how it turned out. A future post will show what this piece ended up being used for!
DSCN3884
href=”https://stonecreekturnings.files.wordpress.com/2013/06/dscn3885.jpg”>DSCN3885

