Stone Creek Turnings at Skyline Salon!

I am excited to have some of my items being showcased in Skyline Salon’s new retail space! It is beneficial to be able to touch my wooden items and see them up close, a picture can’t do them justice. In support of my partnering with Skyline Salon I have put together the below information to give a little bit bigger story of who I am and what I am about as well as care instructions for my items.

Short and sweet back story: Stone Creek Turnings represents a wood-turning journey that started in 2007 as a creative outlet from my day job as an engineer. In May of 2011 my home was overflowing with bowls so I opened up a shop on Etsy. Since that time I have created a wide assortment of bowls, boxes and even some custom orders. All of the wood I use is salvaged from local sources. I love searching out wood with inherent character and beauty. Making large piles of shavings and ending up with a one of a kind bowl is also a lot of fun.

Back story, with a little extra detail: From the very beginning I was hooked on turning wood.  I can start with a piece of wood and develop the final shape as I go.  I started out using whatever wood I could find in family or friend’s yards and slowly taught myself how to use a lathe.  Since then I have moved from Michigan to Missouri, upgraded almost all my equipment and am able to produce bowls and other items that I can be proud to have on display in other people’s homes.  My family also plays an important role in my passion for wood-turning .  My kids love to go with me to an ever-changing pile of wood that is created by a local tree service.

DSCN2973They are also the happy recipients of any bowls that don’t quite turn out right.  My beautiful wife is the primary point of contact for my shop on Etsy and takes care of all my shipping and promotional efforts.  She also sets the bar for quality, if she wouldn’t want to display it in her house, chances are it isn’t good enough to leave my workshop!_DSC0258 LowRes

My workshop is located in a corner of my basement, and on a good day when I can open the door I have a great view of the forest behind my house.  When I first moved to the Kansas City area most of my bowls were made from fallen trees I was able to find behind my home.

DSCN2161

As you can see from previous posts I love a challenge and am open to custom request or just general questions.  Chances are if it is round in nature and I can fit it on my lathe I will give it a shot.

Care instructions:

Bowls – I use a nontoxic, wear and water-resistant shellac on most of my bowls that is applied with it is still on the lathe.  There is no need to reapply a finish with use.  As with all wooden bowls having standing water in the bowl should be avoided.  Liquids can leave a mark that can not be removed.  I enjoy displaying fruit in some of the bowls that I have kept or using them to hold candy, coins or decorative items.  To clean just wipe off with a damp cloth and allow to dry.  If placed in direct sunlight the color of the wood can fade and turn greyish.  If exposed to a lot of humidity changes there is a chance that a bowl can form small cracks due to the wood swelling and then drying out again.

Cutting boards – If you want to display your one of a kind cutting board keep one side for display and only cut on the other.  I have already applied several coats of mineral oil to each cutting board.  Mineral oil, also known as butcher’s block oil, should be applied whenever the surface starts to look dry.  My bottle recommends monthly but the frequently isn’t required.

Gloves – The color in the wool has been steam set so very little instructions are needed for its care.  Just wear and enjoy!

Additional links:

If you like what you saw at Skyline Salon and would like to see additional items please check out my Etsy shop at https://www.etsy.com/shop/StoneCreekTurnings?ref=si_shop

If you really like the yarn that was used to make the fingerless gloves you can find a lot more at http://www.briarrosefibers.net/

If you haven’t already “liked” Skyline’s facebook page you should! https://www.facebook.com/bookmarks/groups#!/skylinesalon

