Coffee grounds, who knew!

Two summers ago I was walking through Silver Dollar City in Branson MO and I ran into a guy who was selling turned bowls. We got to talking, of course, and he asked if I had ever used coffee grounds to fill in holes in bowls. I had used sawdust prior to that but had never heard of using coffee grounds. Since then I have used it a bunch and am always impressed with how it blends in with the surrounding wood. I decided for this blog to review a bowl I have been working on that had several holes in it for various reasons. The first hole was large and had spongy wood around it. For this hole I started by squeezing a thick CA glue into the hole and pressing in some finer saw dust from the same bowl. I then dripped thin CA glue on top of that and pressed more saw dust into that. You always want to get a small mound so that you can sand it flush. Below is how that spot looked after a glued the shaving in place, after I sanded and applied mineral oil and the back side of the spot after I removed the center material. I ended up going through the same CA glue process as I did on the outside but with coffee grounds instead.

DSCN4838DSCN4841As you can see the sawdust doesn’t really blend in all that well.

DSCN4844

 

 

 

 

 

 

The next set of holes were smaller and more scattered.  For these I used the same sequence of CA glue and filler but I only used coffee grounds.  Again the pictures below show after filling, after sanding and mineral oil and then the inside of the bowl to show what the holes looked like before I messed with them.

DSCN4839DSCN4843

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

I love how the black grounds blend in and look natural.  While these holes were not soft around the edges they still benefited from being filled in.

DSCN4845

 

 

 

 

 

