Cheap and easy sandpaper pads

I love the effect of power sanding but am too cheap to buy precut sanding pads.  Previously I had bought large hook and loop pads and cut them to fit my foam sanding attachment.  It took a lot of time and the final size was not as consistent as I would have liked.  Today I finally did something about it.  I had a bunch of 7″ hook and loop pads so it was the perfect reason to upgrade my method.

Sanding pad

Sanding pad

I started off by selecting a hole saw that matched the size of my sanding pad (about 2.25″).  I swapped out the drill bit and mounted it on the lathe.  At slow speed I used a grinder and removed most of the teeth and made a sharp edge.2014-07-26 15.29.28  I mounted the modified hole saw in my drill press and tried it out.  Cut sandpaper (1)  With the sharp edge and slight teeth it worked great.  I was able to get 8 disks out of a single 7″ sanding pad, all perfectly cut!  The hole saw holds the disks so you can cut a bunch without stopping.  I was even able to cut through 2 layers at once with no problem. 2014-07-26 15.43.02 I made 16 sanding pads in under 30 seconds.

